Practice Planner

The Pillars of the Offense

The key to understanding the PSO is understanding the Four main pillars or components of the offense.  The Blocking Schemes, the Read system, the Formation sets and the Play Calling Nomenclature. These critical components are the heart and soul of the system.  Once these are mastered, having the ability to utilize different combinations makes the system a powerful weapon.  Coach Pratley has designed the system to make it easy to explain, understand and combine the first three pieces by setting up "rules" for the players to memorize. Finally, you can tie it all together by learning the Play Calling nomenclature.  Click the link below to learn about the main pillars of the PSO.

The Blocking Schemes

The Read System

The Formation Sets

Play Calling


PSO SmallBack to The System


Leave a Reply